the millings
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

a special place

This is a special place.  We came from the south of Germany and ,make our holidays for the 3rd time in Mortehoe/Woolacombe.  Like everytime, we had a great time, good weather and a rejuvination that will give us power for the next year.  We enjoyed this lovely apartment and the balcony, on which we had long and clotted cream filled breakfasts.  We will come again, as fast as possible.

Mar 2019
eliose, Isaac and tom
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Brilliant time

We had a brilliant time and had loads of fun, the best surfing is in Croyde. I'd love to come back soon.

Mar 2019
Rich & Emma
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

wonderful stay

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay at Gull Rock!  6 years since I was here last and have brought the surf board down too.  Spent the days eating on the balcony and walking to various locations.  Saw a seal.  Many happy memories and we look forward to returning soon.

Mar 2019
O'Toole
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

top class accommodation! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you for a wonderful stay in your top class accommodation! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Trips to Ilfacombe and Putsborough beach were two if several highlights from this part of the world. To our delight we saw a herd of seals on Morthoe's coastal walk- a wonderful sight. We have no complaints at all and will definitely be back again.
Sep 2016
Brendan
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

What a beautiful apartment and a wonderful location

What a beautiful apartment and a wonderful location
Aug 2016
Wright Family

expectations are sky high but are exceeded effortlessly by this place

This is the second time we have stayed in this beautiful apartment. Mortehoe is a childhood stamping ground so expectations are sky high but are exceeded effortlessly by this place. The location is special, with views to die for, especially at sunset. Facilities are great for 2 couples self-catering with everything you could need - including the great restaurant at the Watersmeet Hotel just down the steps for when you don't fancy cooking. I can't guarantee the weather for other but for us we had a perfect week of blues skies and dawn to dusk sunshine and both breakfasts and evening G&Ts on the terrace - in MARCH! Negatives are few. Others have commented on the lack of storage, but for a week we coped, and at least the owners have added some coat hooks! Niggles aside this is just the best place for an off peak week's break with great access to some of the best surfing beaches and the most stunning coastal walks in the world.
Mar 2016
July 2015
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

“Best staycation ever - especially for little families!”

Best apartment, best view and a place where once you arrive you can leave the car put (which you want to as its tight parking). Everything you need is within 10/15 mins walk. We also topped it up with a Sainsbury online shop so we were fully kitted with food, drinks, nappies (and wines) with minimal fuss. We have a 10 month old who's trying to walk so this place was ideal. No tricky stairs, nasty corners and plenty of space. The quiet bedroom in the back was also ideal for him, and us! And early evenings on the balcony after his bedtime was bliss...we didn't miss being cooped up with him at all with that greedy view...full Panoramic of all the local beaches and sun from morning til night on an huge balcony. Very thoughtful place too - you are provided with windbreak, sun umbrella, blanket for outside and on arrival milk in the fridge and a sweet treat delight. Also other guests must have left spades and bits so they are all there to borrow. They also provide bin bags, some starter dish washer tablets, washing liquid, olive oil and washing powder for the washer/dryer amongst other bits around the kitchen. The high chair (with tray!) was excellent and a really comfy travel cot with on top change mat too! It's so spacious, light and bright...a delightful holiday base for a family of 3 or 4! Also Woolacombe and all the various beaches are literally a 10 minute walk down the stairs, or 15 mins back along the road. And if it's a bit grey the pubs and local shop up the hill in Mortehoe are a 10 minute stroll. You must try the Barricane Beach between 5-7:30pm (take your own tipple!) for the best Sri Lankan curry and chilled on beach dinner! And pretty much every pub and restaurant around is terribly child friendly! Our only grumble was no wifi, due to provider changeover, but I believe this is now fixed. We are defo coming back here next year!
Sep 2015
Stunning views and very peaceful
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

A lovely apartment with stunning views. Had a lovely peaceful week

A lovely apartment with stunning views. Had a lovely peaceful week with lots of sunshine. We will be back again.
Sep 2014
Carrie Marshall
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Ideal for couples wanting a bit of luxury on a romantic break.

This apartment is beautiful bright and modern. There are pubs and shops just up the hill and woolacoombe village 10 minutes walk down the hill. Ideal for couples wanting a bit of luxury on a romantic break.
Sep 2014
Rob Downs
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Great view from large sunny balcony,

Great view from large sunny balcony, quiet but convenient for beach and glorious coastal path. Bathrooms / kitchen / bedrooms all small but very nice. There was no storage space at all - we all had to live out of suitcases for the week. One cupboard and some draws under bed but nearly all full with owners stuff. The parking space is only usable by a very small car but fortunately an alternative space was provided. There is no WiFi which is a bit mean when you're paying >£1000pw and there is almost no mobile signal either (so the suggested BT paid mobile WiFi is a non-starter). Also be warned that although this property is found on a search for 2 adults 2 kids it actually only has 2 double beds which can't be configured as twin.
Sep 2014
Reply From Ocean Cottages: Hi There, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are always looking for ways to improve our accommodation/facilities. We have passed your comments onto the owner regarding storage and hope to have more storage options in place very soon. With regards to wifi the owners are now looking into getting it installed for the 2015, however in the meantime there are many establishments in Woolacombe that offer free wifi when purchasing food/drinks, such as the Watersmeet Hotel (just down the road & great coffee!) and Bar electric. The apartment is advertised as two double bedrooms, however many of our other properties do have twin rooms or the option to have twin beds so hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to a more suitable property for your next holiday! Once again thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards The Ocean Cottages Team
Visually stunning apartment
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Had amazing snoozes on the sofa over looking the view. I will miss it,

An amazing apartment which is visually stunning, we had a great week with plenty of sun. Had amazing snoozes on the sofa over looking the view. I will miss it, we will be back.
Sep 2014
Superb!
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

lovely apartment. The balcony and views are amazing.

We have really enjoyed our time in this lovely apartment. The balcony and views are amazing. As promised , superb. Overall enjoyed our stay at Gull Rock and hope to return soon.
Aug 2014
Superb balcony
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The balcony is superb. Great destination and we hope to return.

A really lovely apartment with amazing views. The balcony is superb. Great destination and we hope to return.
Aug 2014
A fantastic family holiday
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The apartment is amazing and the views get better every day.

A fantastic family holiday had by all. The apartment is amazing and the views get better every day. Thank you.
Aug 2014
Very comfortable
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We much enjoyed Gull Rock.

We much enjoyed Gull Rock. The weather has been glistening this week. Very comfortable, thank you.
May 2014
18th April 2014
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

immaculate throughout and beautifully done.

As another review said, the images you see are exactly what the property was like. immaculate throughout and beautifully done. The terrace is stunning and it's unbelievably quiet. Less 5 minutes down to the beach and no more than ten minutes to the heart of Woolacombe - and those timings were with slow walking children! Even a bottle of wine and milk in the fridge on arrival.
Apr 2014
Wonderful week
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed.

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed. We have had a wonderful week many thanks.
Oct 2013
25th October 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The images of the property are completely accurate

The images of the property are completely accurate. The property was large, very comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The views from the property were amazing. Only stayed for long weekend, would definitely recommend and return.
Oct 2013
Stunning views
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

A wonderful apartment with some stunning views.

A wonderful apartment with some stunning views. We would love to return again soon.
Sep 2013
Luxury living quarter
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Wow what an absolutely fabulous place with stunning views

Wow what an absolutely fabulous place with stunning views and a luxury but homely living quarter for our week here. Have fallen in love with Woolacombe. We cannot wait to return.
Aug 2013
An amazing stay!
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We had an amazing stay with the best weather in years –perfect

We had an amazing stay with the best weather in years –perfect and many thanks.
Jul 2013
Fantastic apartment
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

we had a relaxing week. The apartment is fantastic.

A lovely place to stay and we had a relaxing week. The apartment is fantastic. Would love to come back.
Jul 2013
The most beautiful place
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Now we know where the most beautiful places is

It was a fantastic stay in this beautiful place, thank you so much for enabling us for such a perfect place to stay. Now we know where the most beautiful places is, thank you.
Jun 2013
Very sad to leave
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Such lovely views to wake up to. It really is a beautiful place.

We are very sad to be leaving to go back to the big smoke. Such lovely views to wake up to. It really is a beautiful place. We had the most amazing weekend and can’t wait to come back. The weather has been tip top so thank you.
Jun 2013
Everything you need
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Everything you need at Gull Rock and it was finished to a high standard.

A great time has been had by the four of us during our short stay. Everything you need at Gull Rock and it was finished to a high standard. A lovely part of Devon.
May 2013
A great time
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We loved our stay at Gul Rock,

We loved our stay at Gul Rock, it was a bit chilly but the apartment made up for it. Great time and thank you for having us.
Feb 2013
the O'Tooles
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

wonderful stay

Thank you for a wonderful stay in your top class accommodation!  We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Trips to Ilfracombe and Putsborough beach were two of the several highlights from this part of the world.  To our delight we saw a herd of seals on Mortehoes coastal walk - a wonderful sight.  We can have no complaints at all and will definitely be back again.

Mar 2019