Denise Parker
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Fabulous house, well kitted out, close to beach

White Sands is a warm, friendly, spacious property that is really well kitted out. The rooms were well thought out with high quality fittings and furnishing. The house is within walking distance of a pub, Post Office and the beautiful beach of Croyde. We had a wonderful Christmas and plan to return in the future. We were a large family group of different generations aged between 2 and 78 with everyone accommodated for and plenty of space for everyone to be both together and quiet time away from everyone.
Jan 2018
A Holiday Lett, Newport
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Fabulous family gathering sized house close to beach!

A very clean, spacious and well equipped property. It was homely, warm and inviting with plenty of space for everyone, all 9 of us spanning three generations! Lots of little details thoughtfully put together that made for a wonderful family Christmas. A Boxing Day walk to and on the nearby beach made for a special occasion. A beautiful area of the country in both summer and winter.

Dec 2017
A.P
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Fantastic

Fantastic family weekend away for mum's 60th birthday. House and location lovely and nice walk to the beach. Cream tea was a nice surprise on arrival.
Sep 2017
Terri90, London
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

week away with the family

6 adults and 4 children stayed at White Sands cottage. one of the best we have stayed in, close to everything and very clean and comfortable.

Aug 2017
Smith Family
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Lovely House

I had a lovely time. Beach was lovely and paint a pot in Braunton is a good idea! I liked the body boarding. The house is lovely.
Aug 2017
L.W
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Great Holiday

Lovely House in a lovely village. Great Holiday
Jul 2017
Branch Family
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Best house we have stayed in

Had a great stay. Best house we have stayed in in Croyde, and have been to several. Garden perfect for a holiday home & grand-children had a ball. Worth the trip down from Scotland.
Jul 2017
29.10.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Fantastic few days - in the sun!!! Beautiful home,

Fantastic few days - in the sun!!! Beautiful home, kind & generous hosts. Hours of fun had by all on the beach, in the sea. Headen Family
Oct 2016
24.9.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Log burner on our final night, a real treat!

Fabulous home from home with every comfort taken care of. Log burner on our final night, a real treat! Looking forward to returning.... Horgan
Oct 2016
3.9.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Plenty of room

Had a wonderful time, grand parents, children & Grandchildren aged 5 months to 65. Plenty of room Sims
Sep 2016
13.8.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

All home comforts and plenty of space for 10 adults & 1 baby.

We all enjoyed our week, great weather and a lovely house to stay in. All home comforts and plenty of space for 10 adults & 1 baby. A great house for a family reunion. Enjoyed by all!
Aug 2016
20.8.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Ideal accommodation for a family of 10

Ideal accommodation for a family of 10 - ages 4 - 70 - here for a 70th birthday celebration Very spacious and extremely well equipped. We have all enjoyed it immensely. Our 7 year old grand daughter loved the body board, her first time. Hampshire
Aug 2016
30.7.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The house and garden are beautiful

A great house to stay in with the whole family to celebratte 50 years of being married! The house and garden are beautiful and wonderful to relax in after many enjoyable days out together. Arblasters
Jul 2016
Congratulations on 50 years of marriage - great achievement! So glad you enjoyed a stay in our property to make this occasion memorable
23.7.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Such a great find for our week!

An extremely beautiful house/gardens that serviced our family of 5 adults & 4 children perfectly! The weather was bad but enough space for the kids to play without getting in the way. Such a great find for our week! Hampshire/Berkshire
Jul 2016
6.7.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

again we all had a lovely time in this super house,

This is our second visit to White Sands and again we all had a lovely time in this super house, a new washing line would be great as the current one is impossible to use! Norwich & Bedford
Jul 2016
Hi, I am glad to hear you had a great holiday. This is the first I have heard of the washing line needing to be replaced. I will look into this immediately - thank you for your feedback.
10.6.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The house was perfect for us all. We plan to return ASAP!

Wonderful weekend at White Sands. The house was perfect for us all. The weather obliged and we so have tanned, iinvigorated and with plans to return ASAP! Bath
Jun 2016
April 2016
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

great being so close to the beach and Croyde village

We all enjoyed our stay at White Sands (six adults and four children) and thought the house and garden was wonderful. It was great being so close to the beach and Croyde village, it's really pretty. We hope to return next year. Thank you! North Wales, Surrey & Essex
Jul 2016
27.2.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Used all the wetsuit ranges.

Thanks for letting us stay,, great double birthday weekender! Used all the wetsuit ranges. Kate
Feb 2016
Jane Underwood
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

very comfortable, clean and warm

My friends and I enjoyed a pleasant 5 days at White Sands. The house was very comfortable, clean and warm and very conveniently situated in Croyde. The décor was good and the equipment was excellent, especially the linen and towels. We appreciated the Devon cream and scones that awaited us on our arrival, a nice touch.
Sep 2016
Mrs Angela Miller
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The house and gardens were beautiful,

We stayed for a weekend at this wonderful property. The house and gardens were beautiful, would like to go back again for a longer stay. It had everything you could possibly need for your stay. Lots of local places to eat, food in all of them was very good. Beach not too far away. Would highly recommend this property to others.
Oct 2015
Sept 2015
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The house was in pristine condition, spotless and well kitted out

First visit to Devon with family and friends, which included 4 children under age of 6. The house was booked following impressive reviews and due to space for children to enjoy themselves and upon arrival it was clear that this would not disappoint. Warm welcome from housekeeper who showed us around and also provided us with many helpful tips about the area. The house was in pristine condition, spotless and well kitted out. Plenty of space both downstairs and upstairs, very comfortable beds made sleeping a joy. Do not have one negative comment to make about the house, and the company (Ocean Cottages) have been a pleasure to deal with in making the booking process very easy and answering all questions swiftly. Would certainly recommend Ocean Cottages and White Sands to anyone visiting North Devon. We will definitely be using them again.
Sep 2015
Aug 2015
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

“The perfect Devon holiday base”

This was our second visit to Croyde and staying at White Sands made our holiday just perfect. The house is extremely well equipped, with great attention to detail - we had absolutely everything we needed. There were five adults and four children in our party and it never once felt like we were living on top of each other as the house is so comfortable and spacious. The house is very clean and well kept and the decor is stylish with a lovely homely feel. We found the large garden was a fantastic bonus as it meant the children could all play outside while we sat in the sun which was on the garden for most of the day. The area is very quiet so that, coupled with the extremely comfortable beds made for a restful stay. The walk into Croyde only takes five minutes but is very picturesque (look out for the ducks who live at one of the thatched cottages!). The village is small but has two great ice cream shops, a Post Office and convenience store, surf clothing stores and three pubs which all serve food and the Blue Groove restaurant which serves excellent food. The craft fayre on Thursdays shouldn't be missed and of course there are further facilities at the Ruda holiday park by the beach and it is only five miles into Braunton for a greater choice of shops and restaurants. The beach is a further seven minute walk from the village down the public footpath. It has good facilities and is lovely and clean with great surf and lots to see in the dunes and extensive rockpools. Many places in the surrounding area are well worth a visit - such as the walk to Baggy Point, Putsborough beach, Saunton Sands, Woolacombe, Ilfracombe..... I would highly recommend White Sands to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday in a great situation in North Devon.
Sep 2015
June 2015
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

“Perfect holiday cottage for exploring North Devon”

We have just returned from a week staying at White Sands for a family holiday. It was a thoroughly lovely cottage to stay in. After a long drive we were delighted to be greeted with fresh scones, jam and clotted cream when we arrived which got everything off to a fab start. The cottage itself was really well equipped and with upstairs and downstairs bedrooms it catered well for my mother who relies on a walking stick for mobility. It is really well located in the quaint village of Croyde which provided an excellent base for exploring woolacombe, braunton, ilfracombe. Equally there is enough on your doorstep with a couple of really nice pubs and restaurants to keep us well occupied. Thank you very much - we hope to visit again soon.
Sep 2015
Jan 2015
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We really enjoyed the beautiful garden it was idillic

We stayed here for a family holiday in the Summer of 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My husband & I love Croyde Bay & always visit at least once a year in our camper van but this year there were lots of us including the 'olds' and the 'youngs' so we decided to rent a cottage. The house was beautiful & really well equipped. The beds were comfortable (if a little soft) and the bed linens were of a good quality. We really enjoyed the beautiful garden it was idillic with plenty of room for playing and BBQ's etc. There is a store underneath the house which you access from the garden, in there we found lots of spare body boards and wood for the log burner. We had a wonderful stay at White Sands and would stay again.
Sep 2015
Stunning
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

a lovely house and a very relaxing holiday. I love it here!

A gorgeous house which was so comfortable. Croyde is beautiful and the beach waves are stunning. The sun shone for some of the time aswell. Overall a lovely house and a very relaxing holiday. I had a great time and I love it here!
Feb 2015
Loved it!
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

the house was great. Love it here!

A lovely house and a very relaxing stay. I loved it! We had a wonderful time and the house was great. Love it here!
Feb 2015
A wonderful location
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

A perfect location within the village.

An excellent stay over the New Year for all three generations of family. A wonderful house with facilities that have fitted our every need. A perfect location within the village. Thank you so much.
Dec 2014
Pat Cannon
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Plenty of room for everyone to have their own space. Loved

White Sands was a perfect family retreat. The house was large, welcoming and furnished to a high standard. Plenty of room for everyone to have their own space. Loved the back garden and the grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed playing there. Our housekeeper was excellent, responsive and helpful when I needed information or assistance.
Sep 2014
August 2014
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The house was perfect for 2 families sharing

The house was perfect for 2 families sharing as the bedrooms and bathrooms allowed each family their own space, the garden was great for playing games and relaxing in the evening. the house was amazingly well equipped with every gadget you could wish for including DVDs, books, games, buckets and space, surf boards and loads more. Croyde itself was lovely - we had fresh croissants from the bakery and found everything we needed. Good child friendly pubs and outdoor play areas. The beaches were lovely and Croyde beach was walkable (although not loaded up with buckets, spades, surf boards etc). Overall it was a great week and Matilda looked after us very well - especially with the jam and scones! We would visit the area again and would highly recommend white sands and ocean cottages
Oct 2014
June 2014
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

a really lovely house that could not have been better.

Just to let you know that we loved White Sands – a really lovely house that could not have been better. Thank you very much for providing such a good property. Please thank Matilda for keeping the house so clean and tidy.
Jun 2014
December 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Beautiful house the pictures do not do it justice.

Beautiful house the pictures do not do it justice. Have had a lovely Christmas with all the family aged from 4 to 80! The house is large enough to accommodate all the family whilst still feeling cosy and homily. We will be back!
Dec 2013
Jul 13
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

thoughtfully decorated with a charming beach theme throughout.

I and a group of 8 girls stayed at White Sands for a weekend in July for a couple of days of coasteering and lazing on the beach in Croyde Bay. We absolutely loved the cottage! It’s very spacious, fitted out to a very high standard and has been thoughtfully decorated with a charming beach theme throughout. The beds were especially comfortable and are as comfy as any you would find in a high-end hotel. It was in a great location, being only five minutes to The Thatch pub and ten minutes walk to the beach. The owners had even left us some fresh scones and jam in the fridge which was a lovely touch.
Jul 2013
White Sands 21st January 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

very well looked after and beautifully designed with the log fire

We arrived a couple of days before New Years eve to a fab welcome including mince pies and lovely decorations which really was a nice touch and put us all in the Christmas spirit right away. The house itself is very well looked after and beautifully designed with the log fire being a real winner with the group, especially after some chilly walks around Croyde! The location is also great, a stones throw from the Manor and a very short walk from the main village and the Thatch and other shops/pubs, as well as the path to the beach. The only downside, was that we could not stay longer - but we are already planning our next visit, hopefully very soon!
Jan 2013
White Sands 10th November 2012
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

4 of us stayed for a cycling holiday and the accommodation was perfect.

4 of us stayed for a cycling holiday and the accommodation was perfect. It manages to be both practical and finished to a very high standard, which is unusual in my experience. Excellent location both for wandering out at night for food and drink, and also for cycling up to Exmoor. The booking process was straightforward, with helpful emails along the way and overall the experience was faultless. We will definitely be back next year.....
Nov 2012
White Sands 29th October 2012
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

White Sands is stylish and beautifully decorated.

White Sands is stylish and beautifully decorated. The owners have thought of your every need which was a wonderful surprise. We went on holiday with extended family and the house was ideal for the two families to intermingle but have their own space if needed. Croyde beach is fantastic and we loved the chilli hot chocolate at the Blue cafe in Croyde. We have already recommended White Sands to lots of friends and will definitely be coming back for another holiday, its the nicest house we've ever rented!
Oct 2012
White Sands 25th August 2012
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

tastefully furnished to a high standard and well equipped.

White Sands was tastefully furnished to a high standard and well equipped. We were also very pleased with the layout which worked really well for two families staying together! The location was great, just a few steps to the pub, a short walk into Croyde and within walking distance of the fantastic beaches! The property manager checked in to make sure everything was alright for us and was very helpful in suggesting places for us to go. The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into what makes a holiday home and we had a great holiday! Thank you.
Aug 2012