Nikki
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Great location, Fantastic property

This was our first time away with our baby granddaughter and what a lovely place to stay to celebrate this. Looks are deceptive when arriving but once you step inside there is a wonderful feel to the house along with quite enough space. All areas are very tastefully decorated, there is plenty of space in the open plan kitchen, dining, living area and if that is not enough a summer house and outdoor seating. It is a very quiet location but it only takes a few minutes to walk to the local pubs and a few shops. You can walk to the beach in about 10 minutes and if you want to push yourself a walk around baggy point will take about an hour. This house had such a lovely feel to it that we will return next year.

Sep 2019
Simon
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Fantastic property in a superb location for village centre

Stayed at Driftwood as a celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary - bringing together our three children and partners. Our large 'ish' party of 7 adults was certainly accommodated with ease in this stylish and spacious property. An exceptional job has been done with the recent refurbishment creating a real holiday vibe, the open plan living / dining / kitchen area is a particularly lovely social space where everyone can congregate. We ate out at the local pubs a few nights but equally enjoyed cooking ourselves at the property and sitting round the large dining table playing board games afterwards with a glass of wine or two! Brilliantly located for the pubs and village centre and only a 10 mins or so to the beach. We enjoyed loads of walking in and around Croyde and of course Baggy Point is a must if you are visiting Croyde. The only slight negative would be the fact that the back garden doesn't catch very much sun so we perhaps didn't enjoy the outdoor space as much as we would otherwise have done (I accept of course that nothing can be done about this so just an observation really). Wouldn't hesitate to return in the future and thank you for a fabulous week.

Ocean Cottages response:
Thank you for the fabulous review of Driftwood. We are sorry to hear that you did not experience much sun in the garden, we can confirm that as the seasons progress this property is blessed with lots of sunshine and blankets are provided to enjoy the sunny evenings in the garden to take away the slight chill! We hope that we can welcome you back to Driftwood in the near future. 

May 2019
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Thank you for allowing us to stay in this fantastic home.

It has brought my family together for the first time in a while. We have really enjoyed ourselves and it’s also the first family holiday our baby bump has enjoyed. Many memories.
Sep 2018
Jinny Hayes
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Fun, family friendly house in great location

Really well equipped house with great design and features. Very sociable living areas with lovely private bedrooms and bathrooms . Ten minute walk to Croyde beach, right in centre of village but very quiet. Would definitely book again.
Sep 2018
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We have all had a wonderful holiday in Croyde despite the very wet start which improved throughout the week.

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely house which we have all enjoyed very much. This is our first visit to North Devon and we have enjoyed visiting the different places, the children enjoyed Watermouth Castle and The Big Sheep and the beaches. Many thanks.
Aug 2018
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Many thanks for a great week in Croyde in a fantastic house! See you next year!

Aug 2018
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Wonderful house!

So full of lovely touches and surprises - we are still finding little hidden things a few days in :-) we’ve had such a lovely holiday in Croyde and Driftwood played a part in that. We will be back!
Jul 2018
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Thanks so much for a lovely stay, it has been our first family holiday in Devon, and we have absolutely fallen in love!

Who needs the French Riviera?? We loved the house with all its little secrets and hidden adventures. Discovering the room behind the bookcase brought out our love of escape rooms! And the surfer TV girl is a wonderful idea (even in spite of our rush to get the telly on for the England vs Sweden World Cup match!) Hope to have the chance to visit again!
Jul 2018
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We are honoured to have been the first visitors to Driftwood since all the new building has been completed - and it is beautiful!

Particularly loved the bed in a shed, the secret tv channel surfer, and above all (literally) the bedroom of great expectations! We have had a lovely week in this happy home and look forward to returning one day. Croyde has been gorgeous. Many thanks.
Jul 2018
Sarah Newsham
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We will be back!

We stayed in driftwood, great cottage and location. Beautifully and I would say recently refurbished with a great outdoor space! They even had some body boards and kids wetsuits to borrow which was a lovely little extra benefit. We are already looking to return to croyde in October as a smaller group and will book with Ocean Cottages that's for sure !!
Aug 2017
Kirsteen Hogg
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Great, open plan family space

We enjoyed a great week at Driftwood and despite quite a bit of rain, the communal space worked really well for a family of 5 and Grandma. The kitchen was well appointed (massive fridge if you're thinking of ordering an online shop); the fabulous big dining table and bi-fold doors opening out on to the garden area made for a really sociable space. The kids loved the garden room too. Great location, right in the heart of Croyde.
Aug 2016
19.08.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

So comfortable

We've rented a number of places in Croyde and this one topped them all. Fantastic property, kids loved making dens in the garden house
Aug 2016
13.8.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

we love the new and improved kitchen/dining room

Have been coming to Croyde every year for about the last 10 years and this is our second stay at Driftwood. We love the location of the house, close enough but nice and quiet, and we love the new and improved kitchen/dining room. We always sleep well here - it is very comfortable and well equipped bungalow. There's a reason we come back every year - we have so much fun!!! Thanks The Bouds
Aug 2016
2.7.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

From the moment we opened the door we loved it!

A wonderful week in our favourite seaside village, only enhanced by this beautiful place. From the moment we opened the door we loved it! We had plenty of space for 5 adults and 3 small children, they just loved the toys and games. We were lucky with the weather and had some sunny days on the beach. We enjoyed our favourite cream tea at Baggy Point (Seashells) and had a lovely day out at Lynton and Lynmouth. Sitting in the garden on a hot sunny evening was perfect! Thank you
Jul 2016
11.6.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

I love the finish and the design is gorgeous.

I had so much fun here. Great location and a peaceful atmosphere. Really don't want to leave. I will definitely be coming back Ed Very comfortable and a great atmosphere. I love the finish and the design is gorgeous. Will definitely be coming back. Thanks for a great holiday. Will It was an amazing place here , I love the location and the place looks fantastic. Beds were very comfortable and it was great having the beach at our door step. Be back soon Anna
Jun 2016
4.6.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

I was very impressed by the new extension and kitchen

It has been too long since my last visit to beautiful Croyde and this lovely house. I was very impressed by the new extension and kitchen which makes it a great space for friends/family to gather. Love the space, quiet and everything that has been put in place to make it so comfortable. Enjoyed the beach and dunes and the hot shower after. Will be back soon Melanie
Jun 2016
2.4.16
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The newly extended kitchen makes a much roomier living area

A very enjoyable holiday in this very well equipped home. My toddler loved all the books and toys, he discovered all the place and the adults really appreciated the cream tea provided for us on arrival! The newly extended kitchen makes a much roomier living area and once the outside is finished, I'm sure it will be perfect. The Taylors and The Veals
Apr 2016
April 2014
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Driftwood - lovely house VERY child friendly!

We had a lovely week in Devon - the sun shone all week .. and the house was great .. walking distance to the beach, very child friendly (the kids room was great bunk beds & toys! ) .. would def recommend !
Sep 2015
Aug 2015

the decor and bedding were lovely.

The accommodation was lovely and clean and all was as per the description. Lovely spacious open plan kitchen/diner/lounge and absolutely everything you could possibly need. Bathroom a good size and includes a bath. The ensuite is a trifle snug but serves its purpose. Beds were very comfortable and the decor and bedding were lovely. We requested a cot and highchair for our granddaughter and they were supplied, further charge for cot. The outside space was good we used the decking a lot at the end of the day to relax after busy days. The bungalow is fantastically situated just off of Croyde high street and a short stroll to the beach. The scones from the little grocery store were the best I have ever tasted My only negative comment would be that the fridge in the kitchen, there is another in the 'super shed' outside, did not keep things as cold as you would expect as I don't think the door closes properly. All in all a lovely place to stay, thank you.
Sep 2015
Jan 2014
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Fantastic stay in a clean, cosy, high spec, great location holiday home

We arrived for our New Year stay in Croyde to Driftwood after a long journey from london and were met by a lovely warm house in the centre of croyde village (great location, with a nice welcome note and some chocolates! (Good start :-)). The facilities at the house are great with two clean and recently refurbished bathrooms, good sized bedrooms and a really nice open plan kitchen and living room, which was perfect for a group of us. It had wifi,cosy sofas, and is right in the middle of the gorgeous village of Croyde, a stones throw from the famous Thatch pub! What more could you want. It was also a pleasure dealing with Ocean Cottages, very friendly and prompt at replying to emails. We have stayed in lots of different cottages in the Croyde area and thus is definitely one we would come back to. Thanks!
Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are delighted to hear you are happy with our service and the Cottages we Provide at Ocean Cottages.
Kim Boud
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The location is great, close to everything but nice and quiet.

We had a fabulous week at Driftwood. The weather was unexpectedly kind to us, so we were able to fully appreciate staying at the house and in Croyde. The house itself was ready for us early when we arrived at 3pm, it has everything in it we could possibly need including a zillion DVDs and books. The beds and sofa's were comfortable, the water hot after getting home from body boarding - very important, the kitchen well equipped. The location is great, close to everything but nice and quiet. The only thing really needing improvement in our opinion was the outside shower, which needs a bit of TLC. But to be honest, that is just a minor comment. We had a fab and comfortable time in Driftwood - a real home from home!!!
Sep 2014
Everything we needed
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Very well equipped holiday home. Everything our family needed

Thank you for the wine. Very well equipped holiday home. Everything our family needed and it was lovely and peaceful too. Happy days.
Aug 2014
A fantatsic place to stay
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Wow what a fantastic place to stay.

Wow what a fantastic place to stay. We have loved every minute of it and the bungalow has been fantastic. It was more than we were expecting and we couldn’t have asked for more. Matilda was fantastic and we will definitely be back. We will recommend to our friends and thank you for a brilliant week. We will definitely be back.
Jul 2014
A. L. Jackson
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

fully met our expectations: clean, airy, welcoming & comfortable

This bungalow fully met our expectations: clean, airy, welcoming & comfortable for both teenagers & adults. Well-equipped kitchen (hob instructions would be handy); comfortable sitting area; bright bathrooms; tables seating up to 6 - both indoors and in the garden; roomy outdoor shed a great additional facility for wetsuits, washing & bikes; easy private parking in the driveway. Shops & cafes 2 mins walk; beach 15 min scenic walk or 5 min bike ride. Bedrooms clean and fresh but small downside: second double bed a bit hammocky & double bed under the bunk on the short side for a tall teenager. Otherwise great to find the bungalow as you hope it will be, makes for happy holidays :)
Sep 2014
A lovely week
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

A well equipped cottage, ample toys and books

We have had a lovely week at Driftwood. Amazing weather all week and we went to the beach every day. A well equipped cottage, ample toys and books to keep us occupied. Looking forward to a return trip.
Jun 2014
A great house!
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

A great house

A great house and the deck chair cinema was awesome. Thank you.
May 2014
12th April 2014
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

the house was lovely/very child friendly… I imagine we will be back

We had a great time - we we’re sooo lucky with the weather ! and the house was lovely/very child friendly… I imagine we will be back ;)
Apr 2014
12th April 2014
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Definitely would be our first choice for any return visits to Croyde.

Great place in a fantastic location. Others have made comments about uncomfortable beds. Don't understand that - we all found them super comfy! Maybe they've changed the mattresses since?!?! Definitely would be our first choice for any return visits to Croyde.
Apr 2014
A great, child friendly house
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

A great house which is very child friendly.

Lovely time and amazing weather. A great house which is very child friendly. Great time had by all and we are sad to be going home.
Apr 2014
A home from home
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We really enjoyed our break and hope to come back to Driftwood again.

A real home from home. Nice and clean with all the bits and pieces needed for a great stay. We really enjoyed our break and hope to come back to Driftwood again.
Apr 2014
Very peaceful
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Very peaceful location.

We had a lovely week here in this very comfortable bungalow. Very peaceful location. We were very lucky with the weather also. Thank you.
Sep 2013
A wonderful cottage
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

A wonderful cottage had everything we needed

A wonderful cottage had everything we needed. Matilda was ever so helpful. Thank you for the wine.
Sep 2013
A beautiful home from home
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Driftwood made our stay a totally relaxing and chilled out holiday

A beautiful home from home that had everything we needed and more. There was sun all week so lots of beach time. Thoroughly enjoyed Croyde with everything on your doorstep. Driftwood made our stay a totally relaxing and chilled out holiday. We will definitely be back.
Aug 2013
We will be back
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We appreciated all the games, books, films and equipment in the shed.

We love Croyde and always have a good time here. It is always a comfortable stay at Driftwood. We appreciated all the games, books, films and equipment in the shed. On wet days the children were very happy in the pool at Ruda. Thanks to Matilda who was helpful as ever. We will be back.
Aug 2013
Everything we needed and more
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

everything we needed and more

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely home. It was everything we needed and more. We spent some beautiful days on the beach and fun packed days at the dinosaur park. We visited all the restaurants and the ice cream shop was delicious. A fantastic time had by all and we will come back again.
Aug 2013
The perfect base
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Driftwood is the pefect base

We've had a fantastic week and it was made even better by the fantastic weather. Driftwood is the pefect base. We would highly recommend Putsborough Beach and the Rock Inn at Georgeham. We would love to come back agin. Many Thanks and thanks for the wine which was a very lovely touch.
Jul 2013
Driftwood 9th June 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

clean, comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen

We stayed the first week of June. The weather was superb. Croyde is a great UK destination with fantastic beaches on the coast with plenty to do for a young family. The property itself is located within 2 minutes walking distance of the village, with its ice cream shops, 3 great pubs and a general store. The property was clean, comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen and toys for young kids. Our only criticism would be the mattress in the main bedroom was very hard and the fridge wasn't really big enough. Also, remember to take your own towels as none are provided. Overall it was a great week and we would certainly return to Croyde and Driftwood.
Jun 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Towels are now provided for your comfort in all of Ocean Cottages Properties.
16th jun 13
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

very well equipped, clean and fantastically located property.

Driftwood is a very well equipped, clean and fantastically located property. It has everything you could want and a bit more! Well though-out touches make it a home from home. Very comfortable rooms, although hubby found main bedroom mattress a bit too firm, everyone else slept fine. TV and DVD player in each room meant 11 and 13 year olds disappeared most evenings to watch film in their rooms from library of films at the house. Books and games for not so good days. WIFI, DAB radio, docking station to name but a few extra touches that make the stay great. Short walk to village and beach. Beautiful quiet location although traffic in peak summer months is very heavy around area. Kids loved it and us older ones did too! Would definitely return.
Jun 2013
24th May 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

right in the centre of Croyde but so quiet and tucked away.

What a great bungalow and a really lovely setting right in the centre of Croyde but so quiet and tucked away. Weather has been mostly kind and managed the beach twice (without coats)! Would recommend Torrington 1646 and Arlington Court, Paint a Pot in Braunton is good for a few hours when it rains. Food wise - would highly recommend Blue Groove though do make sure to book. The ice cream sop in the middle of the parade is the better one. The cream teas at Watersmeet are excellent and they even have a gluten free option.All in all we have had a wonderful week in North Devon and look forward to returning next year.
May 2013
18th May 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

everything you could need - and then a bit more!!

Thank you for sharing this lovely cottage. A real home from home - it has everything you could need - and then a bit more!! A fantastic, chilled week, lots of lovely walks and some great food. Rock Inn at Georgeham a must! Sad to leave - the kids want to stay. Thanks for the wine - much needed after a 6 hour drive.
May 2013
6th May 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

What a lovely cottage! Great location, Croyde as beautiful as ever

What a lovely cottage! Great location, Croyde as beautiful as ever. excellent service from Matilda. We will take happy memories back to Australia. Thank you.
May 2013
29th April 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Back again, another superb stay. Thank you.

Back again, another superb stay. Thank you.
Apr 2013
2nd April 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

We've been very warm and comfortable in the house

Lovely few days - beautiful sunshine but very cold. We've been very warm and comfortable in the house and had a relaxing time . We'd just like more surf next time, please?!
Apr 2013
March 2013
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

Really good location, house lovely and warm (as it was freezing outside)

Really good location, house lovely and warm (as it was freezing outside). Would definitely come again.
Mar 2013
Driftwood 1st December 2011
Star RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar RatingStar Rating

The accommodation has everything you would need

We've stayed at Driftwood 2 years running now and would def go back again. Great place with kids. 2 minute walk and you're in the village centre, 10 minutes to the beach. The accommodation has everything you would need, like a home from home. Rooms are all a good size. Every little detail has been thought of, even including beach rugs, body boards and a cool bag! Only thing I could criticise would be there is only parking for 1 car so not ideal for people visiting or multiple families. Would highly recommend to anybody.
Dec 2011